Important Alabama Cell Phone/ Texting & Driving Laws

Important Alabama Cell Phone/ Texting & Driving Laws

The man driving the car and using a mobile phone
The man driving the car and using a mobile phone

Most states have laws that mandate drivers to stay off of their cell phones while they’re driving. This includes the state of Alabama. Throughout the state, a 2012 law prevents texting while driving, and young drivers from using their cell phone while driving. If you are caught driving while texting or talking on your cell phone, you can be fined and penalized for this decision.criminal-law-300x225

Talking on the Phone Prohibited in Alabama

The laws for talking on a cell phone while driving, as indicated above, do not apply to every driver out there. The rule actually applies only to drivers who are 16 – 17 years of age and have had their license for a period of six months or less. As with all other drivers in the state, texting is also prohibited for those in this age bracket.

Penalties for Driving and Texting

Law enforcement officials may make a traffic stop if they spot you texting on your cell phone. You do not have to be speeding or committing any other crimes. These laws apply throughout the entire state. Once ticketed, there are fines for the offense. A first time fine is $25, while a second offense will cost you $50, and a third offense $75. In addition to these fines, drivers who are caught texting while driving also accumulate points on their driving record. Each offense is worth two points.

Why is it Illegal to Text and Drive?

There are obvious reasons why it is illegal to text and drive. First and foremost –it is dangerous! Today’s cell phones are capable of sending photos, videos, and more. these things are very distracting, and so many preventable accidents are the result of people texting and attempting to watch or look at these messages on their phones. Of course a simple message is also enough to cause you to receive a fine, because it is just as dangerous. Not only are you at risk when this act is committed, every other driver, person walking down the road, and even people in the lawns of their home are at risk.

Rather than take the chance of receiving this fine and points on your record, wait until you have gotten home or to your targeted destination to read or respond to the text. It can wait! For text messages in emergency situations or those that simply cannot wait, pull over to the side of the road!